Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #7: DADT


by Terry Gresham

What has Obama done?  What happened to HOPE? Where has he been the last couple of years? How is a nation to survive? Where is this guy taking America?  Is there anything that this President has contributed to the great institution called America? Are average citizens safe in this country? How are we to get good leadership these days?   Is Obama out to make me look bad?  Whaa.  Whaa.  Whaa.  Whaa.  Whaa.  Whaa.

These questions and more will be discussed in an Okieprogressive segment called:  Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements.

Segment 7:  LGBT Equality

President Obama signed the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell

I remember on this one, I was listening to my favorite liberal talk radio hosts who were mad at DADT and mad at the President for not doing anything,  I was convinced that I too should be mad at the President and at a system that had left so many of our citizens out in so many ways.  We were mad– mad as all you know what.  The President promised a repeal but where was the repeal? There was no repeal.  Why wasn’t he doing anything?

A week went by. I fumed. I stomped. I even cussed.  Then out of the blue, not un-like an Oklahoma wind that suddenly overnight comes cutting across the plains, DADT was repealed.  I shut my mouth at that time because I had spent my entire personal reservoir of uninformed outrage on something that was now a done deal–something that I did not see coming.

My Lesson: the thought occurred to me that there were probably things in this world that I am not up on or privy to being isolated way out here in far away Oklahoma USA.  You know, I’m far from the stuff that I do not know all things about.  That’s why I rely on News and radio.  But in News and radio, I also have come to realize that there may be  some disconnect, or perhaps  some things about Obama that liberals  go quick to bash on without knowing a whole lot of what’s going on, as well.  I do not blame liberal media though, but, dang it, I could have been whining about something else all that while.

Today, we have taken the final major step toward ending the discriminatory ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ law that undermines our military readiness and violates American principles of fairness and equality.  In accordance with the legislation that I signed into law last December, I have certified and notified Congress that the requirements for repeal have been met.  ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ will end, once and for all, in 60 days—on September 20, 2011.”  President Barack Obama

.

The repeal has a history which I believe the Washington Post has done a nice job on the story of.  They take you back to 1950  where Truman signed the Uniform Code of Military conduct which set up rules for discharge.  The pictorial ends with the Senate voting 65 to 31 for repeal.  See Timeline: A history of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell

Yet for citizens in Oklahoma, efforts are still being attempted to repeal the repeal. The latest was reported Feb, 20, 2012  Read more from this Tulsa World article at http://www.tulsaworld.com/news/article.aspx?subjectid=11&articleid=20120220_11_0_OKLAHO367354

Also read

Bill to reinstate ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ in Oklahoma National Guard appears dead this year by MICHAEL MCNUTT mmcnutt@opubco.com

Read more: http://newsok.com/bill-to-reinstate-dont-ask-dont-tell-in-oklahoma-national-guard-appears-dead-this-year/article/3650773#ixzz1oOahiaky

President Obama signed the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell

I don’t know about anybody else but I’m mad as hell. In the last couple of years here in Oklahoma, I haven’t done for my country anything matching this Repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.

 Damn  that Obama!  Curses!  In comparison, I ain’t done squat.

Well, that concludes this installment of …

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements.

Tune in next time to take a look at President Obama’s:

  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • Ending U.S. combat operations in Iraq
  • Repaired relations with allies
  • Results on Environmental Policy
  • Leveling the playing field for workers
  • Landmark Wall Street reforms
  • Innovation and reform in public education
  • LGBT Equality
  • Equality for women
  • Fighting for working families
  • Health insurance for 32 million
  • Cutting health costs for small business
  • Regulating big tobacco
  • Ending Bush torture policies
  • Nuclear arms reduction
  • Ordering closure of CIA detention facilities
  • Getting a seat on UN Civil Rights Council
  • Doubling fuel efficiency standards
  • and more

Night Y’all,

Terry Gresham

See also:

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #1  Wall Street Reform

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #2  Credit Card Reform

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #3  Wall Street Reform

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #4  Women’s Equality

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #5  Torture Policies

Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #6  Returning Heroes and Wounded Warrior Tax Credits

This entry was posted in President Obama, Terry Gresham. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talking the President’s Progressive Achievements #7: DADT

  1. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Series #7 From The OkieProgressive’s Mr. Terry Gresham….food to feed the hungry ass TeaTardedNation of GOPretenders & RepubliCANTS!!!

Leave a Reply

