Facebook Etiquette 101


By Teri McGrath
 
Lesson One: Anti-abortion people are complete dicks.  It is perfectly acceptable to spew hatred at them.
 
Preserved below, for my amusement, is a facebook exchange I enjoyed having on my personal page the other day.  I don’t really like to argue with people about abortion.  I’d rather talk about the rights of women.  Some people say that I am not being respectful of other people’s opinions, and that’s true in this case.  I do not care about people’s opinions about abortion.  I think it is literally obscene that I should have to hear what people think about abortion.  So the way I deal with anti-abortion people when they come to my personal page to bitch at me is I swear at them.  I heap scorn upon them.  I hope they will be instructed by it.  But if not, it doesn’t matter.  These people are dinosaurs.
.
The exchange is long.This bit of assery is brought to you by Abolish Human Abortion and Personhood USA:


Teri McGrath:These organizations are disgusting. They are not interested in doing anything but creating hype and hate. They could give a shit about the babies. They’re like marketing firms. They imagine a consumer as stupid, hateful and lazy as can possibly be, and then they tailor all their ads to appeal to those people.Gross, dispicable, scumbag pigs is what these people are.

 
  • ML: But they get away with it because so many people lack the ability to think critically and come to their own conclusions. Although logically they may realize not everything they see/hear is true, they still refuse to actively consider the big picture, beyond what is shoved down their throat by whichever media source they choose. But that’s just my opinion lol.

     
  • JC: I’m pretty sure free zygote labor wouldn’t have made the South so rich and powerful.
  •  
  • JF: Oh for F*CK’S SAKE. THESE PEOPLE HAVE NO FREAKING SHAME.
  •  
  • JC: I’m still waiting for the Alex Haley miniseries featuring a bunch of zygotes.

     
  • TRH: The abolitionist of slavery also spent a good deal of time arguing that native americans (the real Americans) were fully human and deserved to be treated with the respect and dignity they deserved as creatures made in the image of God. Anti-abolitionist would of course attack the abolitionists of slavery by saying things like, ” an African slave is nothing like a noble savage!” People who engage in dehumanizing practices never change.Present Day abolitionists are not saying that human zygotes and human slaves are the same thing and that slavery and abortion are the same thing. They are saying that human zygotes and human slaves are both HUMANS and that the percieved right to enslave humans and the percieved right to abort humans are both evil.This isn’t assery. Don’t be stupid.
  • Teri McGrath How about the perceived right to not have a bunch of Christian bigots all up in my vagina? How about that?
  •  
  • Teri McGrathNot that it matters what you think is right what rights you think you have to control what human beings do with their own bodies. It really doesn’t matter because you can’t.
  •  
  • JC: Oh, it’s assery. But, on the bright side, your logical fallacies make you way more human than a zygote too.
  •  
  • BW: Russ…we are well funded and using our vast treasures to fund the war on women? They have us totally pegged! Lol!
  •  
  • TRH: I am okay with being unfunded because this is our philosophical opposition.
  •  
  • Teri McGrath I’m sure you’re a fighter, Brian, and you have real grass rootsy kind of interest in controlling and oppressing and actually enslaving and torturing women. I’m not questioning your authenticity. You are probably legitimately a disgusting bigot pig.
  •  
  • JC: Since we’re speaking in fallacies, T. russell, what about a zygote who wants to have an abortion? Or a zygote who performs abortions in Kansas? Can we shoot it?
  •  
  • TRH: Teri, I am sorry but when exactly did any of us try to get “all up in [your] vagina”?
  •  
  • Teri McGrath Same with you, Russell. You’re probably some sick God’s favorite.
  •  
  • TRH:  There are no zygotes who want to have an abortion or perform abortions. That is just something a dumb person would say.
  •  
  • Teri McGrath Well, in my state you tried but failed beautifully to pass your idiotic personhood legislation, which would have made my body property of the state.
  •  
  • BW: Teri. How do you do that? Just peg me spot on. I happen to be snuggling on the couch with my oppressed wife and daughter right now. Grow up. I have zero interest in oppressing anyone. I have every interest in seeing babies saved.
  •  
  • TRH:  Explain that a little more…. How exactly was the PH legislation going to make your body the property of the state. Can you site something or say something to support that assertion?
  •  
  • Teri McGrath Brian! Holy shit! I had know idea that you had contact with actual females. That changes my whole impression of you. So now I know that you would force your own wife and daughter to give birth, too. Now I know that you consider them to be too immoral and stupid to make their own reproductive choices.
  •  
  • TRH: Teri, you seem very hostile and close-minded about abortion. Do you have any history with the topic or practice?
  •  
  • BW: Actually my wife is too smart to think that killing a child would solve any kind of problem we would face as a family and she will teach my daughter and son the same. The only one forcing a worldview down others throats are those who want to make everyone believe it should be a right to kill their children.
  •  
  • TXG: A zygote is not like an African slave because it is much smaller. A zygote is like an African slave because they are both humans deserving the right to life and liberty. Make one argument with evidence instead of shouting strange things and then we can talk.
    Inb4 ad hominems.
  •  
  • Teri McGrath How about some of you douche bags tell me why you think women are such stupid immoral beasts we need government to make decisions about what we do with our bodies? Why do you think we need to be controlled?Keep in mind that I think you’re all such stupid disgusting pigs I’m only asking you to respond so I can tell you again how much you can just fuck off you disgusting idiotic fucking pigs.
    • Teri McGrath I do wish I could spit on you. You are so stupid you don’t even know that what you are advocating is SLAVERY. Forcing women to bear children is slavery. You idiots.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath I hope that some time before you die you learn to feel the shame you should for perpetuating these evil lies and causing so much unnecessary suffering. You’re horrible people. I accept that you are probably too blind and stupid to know it, so. I forgive you. But damn.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath Anyway, as you know, you cannot control us. We do not need your consent to terminate our pregnancies. We’ve been doing it for thousands of years.All you can do is torment and punish us for it. Make it more dangerous. Make a world for little girls to grow up in where they have no control over their own bodies. Make it so that all a man has to do to have a baby with the girl of his dreams is fucking RAPE her. You blind hateful pigs.
    •  
    • TXG: Women are not stupid immoral beasts. We are not telling you what you can/not do with your body, we are telling you what you can/not do with another person’s body. A zygote/fetus/baby/toddler/child/adult is a person, and I am telling you that you cannot kill them if they are simply inconvenient to you.
      I do not think that “women need to be controlled,” I think evil actions should be controlled. Abortion is an evil act. Therefore, it should be controlled.
      We are not advocating slavery. The burden of proof is on you to demonstrate that we are advocating slavery. But yet have stated that is is good or right to own another person and force them to work against their will.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath Did I mention Fuck off?
    •  
    • TXG: Yes, you did, but we won’t.
    •  
    • BW: I just want to make a world where all little girls can grow up. Period. Instead of ten being killed for no being boys.
    •  
    • TRH: Teri, have you ever terminated a zygote? Is this why you are so hateful towards us?
    •  
    • Teri McGrath Are you asking me that so you can find me and make threatening calls to all of my colleagues and myself and try to make trouble for me? Because if so, FUCK YES! Bring it, you piece of shit.
    •  
    • TRH:  No. We will not seek to harm you in any way. It just helps to no why you are so billigerent and unwilling to think and discuss this issue with those who hold a different view that you do.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath I don’t know how I can help you understand that a nation that imprisons women for falling down the fucking stairs or attempting suicide enslaves them. I don’t know what I can do to make you understand that if a man can force a woman to bear his child, that woman is a slave. What is it that you are missing?
    •  
    • TXG: I’m missing the part where it is okay to kill one human being for another human being’s actions. I’m also missing the part that we don’t have that right, we are enslaved to… something. Or someone.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath You’re also missing the part where abortion is a medical procedure that may be performed for many many reasons that you cannot anticipate or control or probably fully understand. That’s the important part your missing. Your missing the part where it’s not just something that young sexually active women elect to do instead of keeping an aspririn between their legs. You’re missing a lot of parts, dude.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath I never said it was okay or not okay. It’s not that kind of thing. It’s a medical procedure. It’s none of our business.
    •  
    • MK: Some of you talk like you think we LIKE abortion. Like we go out and do it for fun. Nobody who is pro-choice thinks that abortions are awesome. But we do think that it is each individual woman’s right to decide what to do with her own body, including her uterus and its contents. We want abortion to be “safe, legal, and rare.” Call it murder, fine; we’ll call it justifiable homicide.But you know, none of this bitching and bickering is going to change our minds, or yours. That’s fine. Hate us if you will. But keep your hate out of my laws and out of my body. And in the meantime, since human life is so precious and rare, maybe dedicate some of this time and energy you spend trying to enforce your morality on my uterus to, say, adopting and raising one of the thousands of children who are already born and need a home. Become a foster parent. Volunteer for Big Brothers/Big Sisters. Become a CASA. Devote this zealousness to the already living. When every child who is born is wanted, and loved, and has a home, *then* we can start arguing over clumps of cells.
    •  
    • TXG: So you won’t take a stance on the death of a human being as “okay” or “not okay” because it’s none of our business? Heaven help you. I do declare the abolitionists the winners of this debate because none of our arguments have been refuted, and no argument has been presented against us that has not been refuted. Bye ya’ll
    •  
    •  MW: It doesn’t matter whether Teri has had an abortion or not. You all have no right to say what goes on inside a woman’s body. Oh, also (as if it is any of your business), I am the pro-choice daughter of a pro-choice mother. I was lucky enough to be raised by an open-minded, loving, non-judgmental woman who supported my decision to terminate a pregnancy so that I could continue going to school.And Teri, I ♥ you, but why are you friends with these douche bags?
    •  
    • TRH: Hmmm. Okay. It doesn’t matter whether we have had abortions or not, but we have, and we call anyone who thinks it is an unjustifiable homicide names and tell them to F-off etc etc.Got it.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath They’re not my friends, MW. I troll-baited them off one of their Women Hating pages.Well–yeah, actually, i think that’s basically it TRH. Good job on that.
    •  
    • MW: I’ll make you a deal: The next time I get pregnant, you pay for all of my medical bills and child rearing expenses, as well as watch the kid while I work and go to school, and I won’t get another abortion. Deal?
    •  
    • Teri McGrath: Oh, and I enjoy it, too. I know how much real terrible agony your stupid laws cause, and I have a lot of anger in me because of that. Also, I know that your ideas about abortion are childish, ill-informed and motivated by a selfish desire to be God’s favorite boys. So I will use you as targets for all of the anger and hostility I’ve pent up over the past several years of struggling against your bullshit oppressive torturous laws, and I will enjoy the release.
    •  
    • JW:  At one time I was an egg in my mom and a seed in my Dad. Then the egg and the seed got to gather after a party. I traveled down my Mom’s tube and implanted myself in her womb. Soon after I was a Zygote, but then my heart began to beat at which point I was a Fetus. Thankfully, the two people who partied and caused my existence were happy to learn of my existence. Now, I loved my Mom’s womb so much that I hung out for three weeks longer than I should of, but in the late 60’s on 14 July, I crawled out of my Mom’s womb or she kicked me out in what seemed like an Armeggdon-like Earthquake or wombquake. In any case, when did I become a life worthy of existence? Was it because I crawled out alive before the abortionist could rip me to pieces inside Mommy’s Uterus with a WombHoover? 14 July is Bastille Day when the commoner’s of France beheaded the royalty. I’m just glad my Mommy didn’t tell her doctor “Off with his head!” Teri if this offends you, then I’m truly sorry, but this is not a war on women. I realize this may not move you to think differently on abortion, so I am appealling to the others out there who might be on the fence. Also, my wife and I are parents because a very young but scared college lady made a decision to give life to our adopted son, so maybe my perspective is a little skewed.
    •  
    • BD:  Teri – no one is up your vagina unless you let them be there. That’s your business. But damn it, don’t call it a war on women because I think abortion is a horrible, awful thing to do. Especially when women are aborting their unborn girls, not their unborn boys.The war against women has been waged by Margaret Sanger and Planned Parenthood and by men everywhere who want to have sex with no repercussions to them.The war against women is being waged by the National Organization of Women – who seems to think that women are too stupid to keep their legs closed to me who refuse to wear condoms.
    •  
    • Teri McGrathThat’s a sweet story, Joe. And it’s irrelevant. I don’t care what any of you idiots think about abortion. Tell me why you think women need to be controlled and forced to give birth. Tell me why you think we need government to monitor and control our pregnancies. Do you think your experience with the choices you had to face are special? DO you think you are special for making those decisions, but everyone else is so likely to be murderous, selfish assholes we must have laws to control them?Tell me why you think my body needs to be controlled by the government?
    •  
    • Teri McGrath Explain to me why you believe our government should FORCE women to give birth?
    •  
    • Teri McGrath Joe, do you really think that the people involved in combatting this abusing disgusting legislation that I’m guessing you support don’t know about fucking adoption? Do you really think you’re adding something to this conversation?
    •  
    • Teri McGrath http://www.rhrealitycheck.org/article/2012/05/15/media-conference-call-implications-bei-bei-shuai-case-women-and-roe
      Here is a story about a woman who was imprisoned for being suicidal. And a story about a woman who was imprisoned for falling down the stairs.
    • Here’s a story about a woman whose doctors were forced to mentally torture her before providing her with a necessary medical procedure.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath: http://thinkprogress.org/politics/2011/03/10/149878/nebraska-abortion-law-tragic/?mobile=ncHere’s a story about a couple who were forced to carry, deliver and watch their baby die painfully because idiots like you want to compete to show who loves babies more.
    • Teri McGrath You sick fucks.
    • Teri McGrath So stop asking questions, and start answering them. How do you justify depriving women of fundamental basic human rights to control their own bodies?
    •  
    • MN: I believe their reasoning is that once an egg is implanted, a woman is morally obligated to host the result, because the rights of a potential person are more important than the rights of an already-existing one. Interesting tidbit–according to the writings of one Hassidic rabbi (whose name I can’t remember, and probably couldn’t pronounce ;), Jewish religious law would *require* a woman to have an abortion if carrying that child to term would cause harm to her or deprivation to the children she already has. So at least there are *some* religious fundamentalists out there who get it.
    •  
    • JW: Teri, Are you wrathful-laced vulgarities and profanities adding to the discussion. For me, the simple answer is that I don’t qualify or quantify the life of a zygote/fetus/unborn with the same metric that you do. I’m not going to call you a murderer because I don’t believe you are and that wouldn’t be productive. Again, do I expect your mind to change on this? Doubtful, but I did weigh in because you posted this and if there are fence-sitters out there, then I hope my words are found to be more persuasive than your colorful speech. Have a nice evening.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath JW, when your state robs you of fundamental rights, you might experience a little bit of wrath, too. But right now, you are on the side of the oppressor, so it’s probably hard for you to have access to my righteous indignation.Your stories about where babies come from are not what is needed to get people off the fence. What you have to do is explain why women should be controlled and tortured by our government. That’s the sticking point for most thinking people even if they aren’t baby haters like me.
    •  
    • TRH: I think all the abolitionists have realized that you are incapable of having this discussion like a mature adult Teri. I pray you find peace and truly consider the love of Christ. Sorry if anything I have said has caused you undue pain.
    •  
    • MN: You know what I’d like to see? Clinic protesters putting their money where their mouth is. Instead of hateful signs and slogans, showing up with adoption facilitators and the willingness to adopt the baby of the next woman who walks up the sidewalk, be she black, addicted, what have you. I’m not saying that this would or even should end abortions. But it would demonstrate to the rest of us that the anti-choice movement cares about babies after they’re born. (I use that word because all of us, on both sides of the issue, are pro-life. There is only anti-choice and pro-choice.)
    •  
    • Teri McGrath: Everything you guys have said and everything that you do to support that evil organization you are following causes me and millions of other women enormous unnecessary pain. I’m an athiest, but even I know Christ wouldn’t support the torture of women.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath  But YOU do, TRH.
    •  
    • Teri McGrath  And you people have never been interested in discussion. You want to control and you want to punish women. That is all. No discussion. Just force.
 
 
3 Comments

  1. This is such a difficult topic to argue without turning into a jerk. There’s so much emotion wrapped up in it, it’s hard to stay dispassionate about it.

    First off, unless you just enjoy pissing people off, you need to be considerate of the anti-abortion side and look at it from their perspective before you start spewing insults. Their perspective usually comes from a belief that life begins at conception, even before implantation. If you accept that assumption as a starting point, then logically you do come to the conclusion that abortion is murder, and particularly foul murder since it involves such young, helpless lifeforms. This isn’t them being stupid or anti-woman. They are following their idea to it’s logical conclusion. If life begins at conception, then abortion is murder.

    HOWEVER, that initial assumption is by no means universally accepted. To most pro-choice people, the idea that a life form that undeveloped is a person is ridiculous. No, really. That’s not us being mean and calling the pro-lifers stupid. It’s just that the idea that a zygote is a person is…well…silly. Have you ever seen a picture of a zygote? Yes it is human, but it isn’t a person. Not yet. It’s something that, with luck, will become a person. It’s a potential person. But not a person at that point.

    Every sperm and egg is a potential person, but very few of them will ever actually realize that potential. Once a zygote is formed, the odds are significantly better, but there are still so many things that can go wrong. Starting with implantation. If it doesn’t implant, or implants in the wrong place (ectopic pregnancy). In fact, all through the pregnancy, things can go wrong. Just ask anyone who’s had a miscarriage (also known as a spontaneous abortion),

    So, when does that potential person become an actual person? I don’t know. Probably when it can survive outside its mother’s womb without extraordinary medical intervention. But I’d buy the argument if it was a bit before that or a bit after. It rather subjective. Once it’s full-term and born, certainly it’s a person. But at what point before that? I’m not sure. But I don’t think it’s a person in it’s first trimester and probably not in it’s second either. So, I have no particular problem with abortions during this time. I also have no problem with late term abortions if there’s a medical reason for it.

    In any situation, I would put more weight on the mother’s life and health than the fetus’s. If there’s a situation where the pregnancy or birth is endangering the mother, then her doctor should take whatever steps are necessary to save her. Even at the cost of the child. And I do understand that the pro-lifers argue that people lie about whether the late-term abortion is really necessary. Citing the mother’s mental health and all that garbage. And, yes, I suppose there are always cases like that. However, there are so many real, serious medical issues that can come up in the last term of a pregnancy. Saying that it shouldn’t be allowed at all because of a small number of people abusing it isn’t fair to the women who actually, legitimately need it. And, given that everyone’s situation is unique, I think the decision should be left to the women and their doctors, not to lawmakers.

    At whatever stage in the pregnancy, abortion is a sad thing that should never be taken lightly. No one ever wants to have an abortion, but if a woman finds herself pregnant in the wrong situation, sometimes it’s the right choice for her. It’s a hard enough choice without a bunch of pro-lifers trying to make her feel guilty about it. And I think every woman who makes that choice understands just how serious it is. It would be a better effort on the pro-lifer’s part if they’d work to help people prevent unplanned pregnancies in the first place, with education and birth control. That way there will be less need for abortions at all, which is really what everyone wants.

      1. I love typos. Reminds us that our language is more our tool rather than our master.

Leave a Reply

