Man, S. Truett Cathy has really been getting on my nerves


by Brenda Weber

.
Man, S. Truett Cathy has really been getting on my nerves. He’s the founder and CEO of Chick-Fil-A, maker of those tasty, greasy, salty heart bombs I do so love. But what comes out of Mr. Cathy’s mouth lately? Not so much love there.

There are fresh calls for a boycott of Chick-Fil-A over Mr. Cathy’s recent remarks about marriage equality and his company’s charitable donations, and that got me to thinking on this boycotting thing. I think I’ll be able to keep eating my beloved lumps of heart failure after all.

I’ve boycotted stuff. It all started with the farm workers and grapes. I quit eating grapes in solidarity with the farm workers, despite all their little sweet goodness. I didn’t eat grapes for a long time. I even refused to eat the grapes in fruit salad at a restaurant, revealing my youth and ignorance since the point of the boycott was to deny bad farm owners any of my money; so while the intent was noble, my execution was poor. This went on for many years, and I finally just starting buying grapes again, fully aware that the plight of the farm worker had most likely not improved.

I also boycotted Pepsi over Apartheid, Domino’s Pizza for Operation Rescue, and State Farm Insurance for being dicks. They are all still operating profitably, the issues I was boycotting over were either solved by government action or still festering like a spider bite despite my boycott. (Especially the being dicks part, once a dick always a dick.)

I’ve found myself in the position of being the owner/operator/bitch of a small country café. My husband and I are godless, progressive wood hippies trying to scrape out a living cooking for a sea of conservative christian neighbors. So boycotts over differences in political positions don’t really have the same romantic sheen they once held for me. We are a minority here, and if our customers starting thinking it would be noble to boycott US over our differences, well, hubby and I would have to get over our hatred of bosses now wouldn’t we?

In 2010 Chick-Fil-A gave 2 million dollars to groups opposed to marriage equality, from gross receipts of more than 3.5 billion dollars. I did the math, and from my feeble attempts of calculation I was surprised as just how much of the money I give to Chick-Fil-A during my infrequent visits actually goes to these homophobe organizations.

The amount I’ve been giving? Less than a penny. WAY LESS than a penny. Somewhere around the .03¢ mark. Yep, that’s 3/100ths of a penny.

Wow, I’m having a hard time getting upset by that. Will those groups really miss my .03¢? Is it possible that such a small amount of money could make any impact at all? I truly doubt that this boycott could work for anything except to make the boycotters feel proud of themselves for taking a negative action against Mr. Cathey’s positions. So I got to wondering how I could not care about my money being used by Chick-Fil-A to support hate filled, homophobic causes and at the same time strengthen the groups fighting this hatred, and to do so in the most positive way possible, when it came to me:

I propose a PROCOTT!

Yes, a Procott. A positive way to truly effect change. My 3/100ths of a penny is nothing in the grand scope of things, so refusing to eat at Chick-Fil-A succeeds only in adding to the negative choices I make everyday. I want to change that into a positive.

My Procott will be: every time I eat at Chick-Fil-A, I will donate the total amount of my purchase to my local PRIDE group. They just started up, and they have an ambitious and awesome plan to host a Pride Prom next spring, so I’m sure they could use that money to do something wonderful that strengthens our position that we are all equal and beautiful.

I hope you all have a local group you would love to see grow stronger, and hopefully you will consider joining me in this Procott. Or you could donate it to the “It Get’s Better Campaign”, PFLAG, anyone working towards marriage equality and equal treatment or for brothers and sisters.

So haters get .03¢ and my local PRIDE group gets $7. Any organization I choose to donate to will get way more money from me than any hate filled organization Mr. Cathey can choose. Take that rich guy!

So yeah, a Procott. I like it. Positive action for positive results. So I guess all I can say is “Eat Mor Chikin!”

This entry was posted in Brenda Weber and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Man, S. Truett Cathy has really been getting on my nerves

  1. Brenda Weber says:

    Thanks Terry and everyone who shared.

Leave a Reply

