Pocket US Constitution Hander-Outer


Constitution of the United States of America

Tiny Constitution of the United States of America (Photo credit: The U.S. National Archives)

While moseying the other day, I happened into a place where someone was handing out copies of the US Constitution. Everybody in the place got one–a pocket-sized encouragement to people everywhere to better understand and appreciate the principles of government that are set forth in America’s founding documents.  I, being me,  mentioned that I am particularly fond of the first amendment– the free speech thing.  To that, the person handing out the copies of the US pocket Constitution said, “Well, this (the copy being handed to me) is the Constitution before they did all those amendments.” This statement filled me with wonder. A US Constitution without what?  I was polite in spite of myself and didn’t laugh too much.

Gotta love Oklahoma.

Later that night I took a peek at the copy of the US Constitution that had been handed to me and, yes, Lo and Behold, all the amendments were there.  I guess this particular hander-outer who so wanted me, a godless liberal, to read the US Constitution had herself not read the very pamphlet she was distributing.

Sometimes I hate myself for thinking bad thoughts. So, I think about going to church for to repent of the sin of thinking poorly.  Yet something tells me that Church is the very place this hander-outer (bless her heart) received those copies of the US Constitution to hand to heathen people like me.

It is so unfair being me. There seems nowhere to go for my redemption.  Even though I am an ordained minister, poor me, I may ultimately end in hell one day as an un-reborn leftist so-and so. Don’t get me wrong, in my house on my bookshelves (plural) I keep on hand the Constitution plus volumes of the United States Code Annotated Cumulative Supplement, a must for boring small print legal late night reading.  I am not a Constitutional scholar by any means but I do like to torture myself with such things.  What is my reward for keeping a small home library one might ask?  Gosh, that’s a good question. Maybe it’s that I get the honor of really trying hard to not be perplexed and offended by right-wing proselytizers.  But then again, maybe knowing is lonely and a loss of power these days.

English: Painting, 1856, by Junius Brutus Stea...

English: Painting, 1856, by Junius Brutus Stearns, Washington at Constitutional Convention of 1787, signing of U.S. Constitution. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Still, it’s hard to be too forgiving from my perspective since she, the hander-outer, was mostly just doing what the preacher said to do to save the nation from liberals. I’ve been to church. It’s kind of like you do what the speaker says even though it’s silly because AMERICA is in trouble due to intellectuals like yours truly.  Handing out God’s Constitution should magically cure the nation and save it from evildoers–those who have twisted the Holy US document handed down from Mount Zion to American Founding Father Chosen ones. Reading it should fix guys like me as well as set the nation back on God’s path. How dare liberals add amendments to something God has given?  LOL

If anyone wants to know, the signers of the Constitution would not sign the dang thing without the added Amendments. Baptists wanted the freedom of religion bit for protection from Church of England thugs; they signed the thing once that was in it.  Southern slave owners wanted their slaves counted when they went to vote. Like the Baptists, they signed on that condition/amendment.  Amendments are as old as the Constitution. They are not some liberal tinkering with an imaginary original document.

Everybody knows that, right?

.
Terry Gresham

.

Bjork – Jesus Prayer

This entry was posted in Terry Gresham and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

