Howdy, Gay GOP Oklahoma


Map of USA with Oklahoma highlighted

Map of USA with Oklahoma highlighted (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m not too sure about Oklahoma. For one thing, I still run into many gay and lesbian individuals that are flag waving Republicans.

Everybody is entitled to vote any old way they choice. And I’m not one to tell folks one way or another to their faces; so I’ll do it here.

The Oklahoma Republican Party Platform specifically states:

“We believe that marriage between one man and one woman is a covenant relationship, instituted by God, and is fundamental to our very existence and survival as a nation. Therefore, we strongly support a U.S. Constitutional amendment defining marriage as between one man and one woman.” Should I just forget these words and the Oklahoma GOP?

Am I missing something here?

The Oklahoma GOP Party Platform also states that:

“The Ten Commandments should never be barred from view in public schools as a means of moral guidance along with our national motto “In God We Trust” and the Bill of Rights. Neither shall public schools prohibit the Judeo-Christian worldview upon which our country was founded. Public schools shall be prohibited from promoting other worldviews.”

What about that?

I read the Bible. I’ll have the GOP know, I don’t need to have it up everywhere like a trophy for the State of Oklahoma. Yes, indeed, I am a Christian and I have this veiw.

Anyway, the Oklahoma Republican Platform also says this:

The Oklahoma GOP Party Platform also says, “The traditional family unit, consisting of a (husband) man, (wife) woman, and child(ren) is the foundation of our social structure. The Oklahoma Department of Education and various Boards of Regents should uphold and teach this definition of traditional family at all levels of public and higher education.”

Gay Republicans, should I just go along with the Oklahoma Republican Platform or not? Do I vote for the next GOP candidate that comes along just because he or she is a Republican? The Oklahoma GOP does not support candidates who swerve from it’s platform. What should I do here? Vote Republican anyway. Maybe I’ll just close my eyes when I get to those anti-gay parts.

This entry was posted in Oklahoma, Terry Gresham and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Howdy, Gay GOP Oklahoma

  1. List of X says:

    What if a person is gay, racist, hates taxes, and loves guns? No matter how he votes, it will be against own interests, but at least by voting GOP he gets 3 out of 4.

  2. railroadmike says:

    One of the main reasons Oklahoma is Red. I looked up the polticial donors to the RNC by the owners of the local paper, radio and tv station here in Lawton. Huge sums. Also the rock station down in WF TX. Has on the hour comedy rascial statements and morning comments negative about the POTUS. Propaganda.  

Leave a Reply

