Oklahoma Bill to Require Pledge of Allegiance


Red State Oklahoma where abounds a group of total idiots bent on passing laws that will be challenged in court, cost the state millions defending them and do nothing to advance nature, science or intelligent thinking.

We now have another idiot (and I use that term loosely) presenting a bill to require that the Pledge of Allegiance be recited in every school everyday of the school year. So you may ask why am I claiming idiot status for this clown (clown maybe is a nicer term than idiot)? Well I may be wrong but I think they already do that now in every school in the state.

So why do we need to spend money the state doesn’t have reinforcing something that is already being practiced? We won’t spend money protecting our kids from tornadoes because we don’t have the money they tell us but we can spend money on enforcing the reciting of the Pledge of Allegiance. WTF? Now do you understand why this guy deserves idiot status? First off I don’t know why we have to constantly require our children to recite the Pledge of Allegiance in the first place.

As a veteran who served this nation in time of crisis and did so proudly, with honor and loyalty of purpose I wasn’t required to say the Pledge of Allegiance every day in school when I was a child and in fact while I was a member of the Air Force we maybe recited the pledge a half a dozen times in my four years and I consider myself and the people I served with to be pretty gosh darn patriotic and loyal to the good ole US of A to a person.

Whether or not I constantly recited the Pledge of Allegiance everyday had absolutely nothing to do with making me a person of honor who loved his country enough to enlist in the Air Force and proudly serve my nation during the Cuban Missile Crisis. My patriotism has nothing whatsoever to do with the Pledge of Allegiance and whether I recite it or whether I do not. The pledge didn’t make me a better person or a better airman. It didn’t have anything to do with my decision to enlist.

I happen to believe in the Pledge of Allegiance but I don’t feel any desperate need to reinforce that belief by reciting it on a daily basis and in fact I don’t and I never have. I believe in a lot of things that I don’t shout them out for others on a regular basis because I know I am a patriot and that I love my country so I don’t feel the need to keep telling myself or the world that I do. My actions speak volumes and they tell me and the world who I am and that I am a loyal American. I don’t need to constantly remind myself of that fact.

The Pledge of Allegiance is words on a piece of paper and repeating them over and over and over will not make our children better citizens. We are honorable Americans by our actions and the things we do to help make our nation safe, free and better. Reciting words on a paper will not change that. Actions do speak louder than words and just speaking the words again and again that are contained in the Pledge of Allegiance will not translate into good deeds or good citizenship.

What we do for our fellow human beings is what matters. We become good citizens by working to make our nation fair for all of its citizens. Singing the Star Spangled Banner and reciting the Pledge of Allegiance doesn’t tell anyone who we are or what we have done for our country. They can only learn that by the things we do and by the actions we take. Our founders had no Pledge to recite when they founded this nation but it didn’t make them any less patriotic. Abraham Lincoln never heard or recited the Pledge of Allegiance in his life, but that didn’t make him less patriotic.

Pledging is just that a promise to a banner that represents our nation, but unless it is backed up by actions and deeds it is meaningless! Singing a song or pledging allegiance to a flag doesn’t make anyone a patriot or a good citizen it just simply means they know the words!

Bob Bearden

This entry was posted in Bob Beardon, Oklahoma. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

